Darjeeling is a district in West Bengal state of India.


Darjeeling has many good schools for education and follwing are popular schools among students.


Darjeeling has many good hospitals for treatment and follwing are popular among people.


Darjeeling has many good banks for financial services and follwing are popular among people.

Darjeeling District

Darjeeling is one of the 23 districts of West Bengal, spread in an area of 2572.17 square kilometers. It is divided into 9 Subdivisions and 9 blocks. As on 23rd March 2023, the current population of Darjeeling district is 15.67 lakhs, which includes urban population of 2.84 lakhs and rural population of 12.83 lakhs. The sex ratio of district is 975 females per 1000 males. There are 3.38 lakhs houses in the district which means every household has around 5 members. There are around 1.62 lakhs teenagers in district. It has literacy rate of 67% which means around 10.44 lakhs persons can read and write. The district has working population of 5.91 lakhs. Total 3.64 lakhs people belonging to scheduled caste and 3.89 lakhs scheduled tribe people live in the district.

Subdivisions in Darjeeling district

Darjeeling district has total 9 Subdivision.

Blocks in Darjeeling district

Darjeeling district has total 9 blocks.

Darjeeling Zilla Panchayat

Arun Ghosh is the President (Adhyaksha) of Zilla Panchayat Darjeeling, who can be contacted at email address smpsabhadhipati@gmail.com and mobile number 98512xxx95. The Chief Executive Officer (CEO) is Dichen Ongmoo Bhutia, who can be reached at email address secsmpslg@rediffmail.com and mobile number 94341xxx42. The office address is Siliguri Mahakuma Parishad, Haren Mukherjee Road, Hakimpara, Pincode - 734001. You can reach there by taking a bus till Tenjing Norgay bus stop which is around 5 km away. The office has both internet facility and Wi-Fi facility.There are forty computers, ten laptops, forty printers and ten scanners available for various works.It also has a CSC center. Darjeeling Zilla Panchayat consists of total 4 Panchayat Samiti.